80 Series v 75 series

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 22:34
ThreadID: 17309 Views:3026 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
I have had the Troopy since the 22nd of September and have already put 7071klm on the clock. (Just checked the tax invoice and when I picked up the vehicle the speedo was 144444, and now it is 151515).
What I do miss the most from the 80 is the 4th pedal, some where to put my left foot. The ride is a lot different and the overtaking speed is a bit down but the Troppy is just as good as the 80 Series. The turning circle is also a lot bigger, something that I will have to get use to. I have just updated my profile on the Troppy and the difference between the two vehicles was very little.
Eliza likes it because it has a CD player in the radio and a mirror on the sunvisor (after market). Kids are so easly pleased. Belinda is still not sure yet, she will have to do a driver training course.
I know it will do the Simpson Desert, the next test will be the Victorian High Country.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 22:58

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 22:58
Mate it will do the high country with ease.
My 78 series has the fourth pedal. Maybe you can get one from Toyota and screw it in.
Sounds like you are becoming attached to the Troopy Wayne.
The cd player makes all the difference. LOL

AnswerID: 81663

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 23:35

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 23:35
G'day Mate,
Glad to hear the troopy is starting to feel like home to you.LOL
I took the 4th pedal out of the Patrol to give me a little bit of extra room to stretch my leg.....don't miss it at all. I guess the leaf springs probably take a bit of getting used to as well?

What about Vic? I heard when we were at Lawn Hill that he broke his new 100 series' front diff. I also remember being at Braidwood a few years ago when the 100's were just being released......he said he wouldn't have one cos of the independant front suspension & 5 stud wheels and other "softening" that Toyota had done. I thought he might have gone to a Patrol......maybe next time.
AnswerID: 81667

Reply By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:52

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:52
hi Wayne,
At that rate of driving you will be very familiar with your troopie in a short time. It took me a while too to get used to the different driving style.
The 'where to put the left foot' problem gave me cramps on long trips until I came up with a solution that works well for me.
I fitted a longitudional, wedge shaped, foot rest next to the transmission tunnel. It is fixed to the seat pillar via an oddly shaped bracket.
This lets the ankle relax as the sole of the foot is in line with the lower leg. The knee is slightly leaning towards the gear shift, hard to describe exactly.
Resting the foot there and occasionally alternating to a stretch past the clutch pedal makes long distance driving much more bearable.
Klaus
AnswerID: 81670

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 06:44

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 06:44
Hi Wayne

When looking for a Troopy I had the same issue with where to put my left foot.(A 78 series was out of my reach). In the end the GQ won out with more space in the cab. The GQ turning circle is also a dog and something to get used to, as is the slowness of a non turboed diesel. But since I have clocked up 10,000km since mid August I am getting used to all these things.Ahh...the rig pic is a 1958 Patrol.
AnswerID: 81677

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:36

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:36
Great to see another troopy convert out there .
AnswerID: 81685

Reply By: Davoe - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:05

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:05
if it is a 75 and not a 78 the turning circle can be adjusted. I drove a troopy for a contract job I did and was amazed at its turning circle compared to the work utes
AnswerID: 81695

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:47

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:47
How? I always thought the wheel would hit the leaf spring if its turned more over.
Klaus
FollowupID: 340925

Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:02

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:02
sorry been out it can definitly be done like I said I drove a troopy which had been adjusted and my current 75 camper turns way better than nany of the 20+ cruisers I have driven at work - but I dont know al I know is it is a simple adjustment ( as told to me by the pc owner)
FollowupID: 341272

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 20:16

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 20:16
Gday Wayne
I wait with tongue in cheek to see the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx you build for the back of the trouper....there is plenty of room in the back isnt there....you either love or hate their appearance...ive always loved their versatility.....may it take you everywhere you need to go...and then some.
AnswerID: 81988